Cue step 2 – nutrition goals

This was my first week of mixing gym and practice. It went okay; I’m determined to keep up with it as long as I don’t burn myself out.

Here’s what my schedule was…

Monday:
• ran 4 miles

Tuesday:
• derby practice

Wednesday:
• ran 4 miles

Friday:
• ran 2 miles
• weight training focusing on arms, back and abdominals
• derby practice

Wednesday was a particularly challenging run, immediately following a practice on the previous day. Even though I was begging the distance timer to hurry up at around mile 2, I still made myself push through. But it gave me a wakeup call.

With the energy I’m going to be expelling over the next little bit, I’ve realized I need to change my diet to help fuel my body better. Many of my derby sisters have taken on the Roller Derby Workout Challenge, a Facebook group that has been created with 8 weeks of exercise and diet plans. I’m not doing the official challenge because the menu is a little to strict for me (sorry I can’t give up sugar and cream in my coffee). However it has helped me sit down and think about what I’m putting into my body.

Diet Goals/Strategy
• Eat breakfast – even if it’s a slice of dry toast, eat SOMETHING
• Replace my favourite sugar/salty snacks with trail mix
• Replace pop with cranberry juice, energy drink or water.
• Drink at least 3 bottles of water a day.
• Cut out alcohol.

I know the nutrition gurus out there will say that choosing juice/energy drinks as an alternate isn’t good and trail mix isn’t the best choice for diet either. However, I want to be clear that I don’t desire to lose weight but to fuel my body effectively so I don’t peter out.

I also know that sometimes I will still snack on some sour gummy candies, have a Whopper or drink a pop at 1 a.m. and that will be okay because I know, all-around, that my eating habits are still better than what they were a month ago. And if I have a shitty time at the gym or at practice the next day as a result of what I ate, I’ll only have myself to blame.

As for cutting out the booze, after an unfortunate over-consumption situation I put myself in over Christmas, where my kidneys were screaming in pain the next day, I’ve pretty much lost all my desire for the stuff. The occasional beer or glass of wine aside, I don’t plan on drinking with the purpose of getting drunk in a long, long time.

So, dear readers, that’s my plan of action for the new year. (Remember, these are NOT resolutions) I encourage you to set your own nutrition goals and feel free to share them here so we can support each other!

3 thoughts on “Cue step 2 – nutrition goals

  1. Pingback: Three months have passed… what have I accomplished? « Diary of a Roller Girl

  2. Pingback: Sit up then T-up to the broad plank and push up to a sprint till you *beep* (test) « Diary of a Roller Girl

  3. Pingback: New Year’s Eve, Part Deux! « Diary of a Roller Girl

Leave a Reply

