Hello, I’m bored!

Our team is on hiatus.

Not in a bad way, though any time off skates is super shitty, but in a we-lost-our-venue way. Our local car dealerships have decided to move their vehicle inventory indoors during the bitter months, which essentially leaves us out in the cold.

I went through various emotional stages when our leave of absence began:

STAGE ONE: Missing the gals.
The minute I walked out the door after our last practice, I was immediately on Facebook, begging for reassurance we wouldn’t be separated until our next practice till January. Neediness set in.

STAGE TWO: S.A.D.
Skating Affective Disorder. Much like how some miss the sun in the winter which then affects their moods, I began to feel utterly depressed the fact I wouldn’t be wearing my skates, let alone skating in them. I debated wearing them while watching TV, just to make sure the boots would stay formed to my feet. Sadness set in.

STAGE THREE: Fitness obsession.
Taking a hiatus during the most popular season to eat had me stressed out. The last thing I want is to turn soft after how hard I’ve been training. Solution: running the treadmill. Three times a week.

Ugh.

The good news is I’m super-impressed at how my body’s responding to the change in training. Derby’s made me a way stronger runner. Acceptance set in.

STAGE FOUR: Finding reasons to go to Calgary.
Lloyd’s Roller Rink plays nasty music, is a bit pricey and covered in kids. Yet I tried to find any excuse to get to Calgary to skate there. (Yes, we have to go to Ikea TODAY!) I wasn’t the only one… 4 other dames and one future ref was also there when I arrived. Relief set in.

STAGE FIVE: Finding a place to skate.
Can I just say a HUGE shoutout to the Village of Nobleford who have taken a chance on us crazy skaters and let us hang in their community centre? Can I also give a HUGE shoutout to Betty Believit for convincing them to give us a chance to skate on their wood floors?

We had our first skate there last night… It was a little slick, it was a little small, but for $20/hour, we’ll take it! I only hope our wheels keep the floors damage-free so they will let us continue.

So all-in-all, I’m surviving the the hiatus. And the good news is, it will be over sooner than later, because…

We have our next bout to plan!!!!!

January 15! North Pavilion! 7 pm start!
Deathbridge Derby Dames vs Gnarlies Angels from Rossland, BC
AND
Black and White Rookie Scrimmage!
Tickets $10!

Please search ‘Deathbridge Derby Dames bs vs Gnarlies Angels on Facebook for all event details! I’ll post a poster soon too!!

I’m so excited! I hope to see you there!!

One thought on “Hello, I’m bored!

Leave a Reply

