Back away from the derby girl with tentacles and bat wings

With the post-secondary year upon us and a few thousand new residents moving into the city shortly, we are moving to focus on recruitment to get students to spend their student loans on roller skates and gear grow our league and build our strength in numbers.

As with any non-profit organization, it’s easy to get tied up in administrative crap and forget why you joined in the first place. Years ago I served on the board of the Lethbridge & District Humane Society and while it was a lot of meetings, bickering and hard work, it was always worth it to see a long-time shelter resident get adopted to a new home.

Also, with any non-profit organization, it’s easy to get caught up in the excitement of being involved with something new and have this happen to you. I admit, the Gemini in me is guilty of volunteering for too much at once and had to back away from a couple of things to avoid going SWRAWWWK avoid derby burnout.

However, the call to make this league successful in Lethbridge has been very loud in my ears. I see such huge potential for growth, personal and professional, as well as the opportunity to spread the derby love around. Many ladies I skate with have made a magical transformations of their own as well. As a board, a team and a league, we’ve had some going pains. But we’re learning as we go. It’s going to be so worth it.

I’ll continue skating hard and volunteering doing the things I love.

I realize this is a lame post, but I wanted something to transition to that awesome cartoon.

***

Watch out for us at the Lethbridge Whoop-Up Days parade! If you see me, yell out and I’ll skate over and say hi!

Leave a Reply

