We want the funk!

Anyone watch Glee?

It’s sort of my guilty pleasure right now. I will forgo all work and play and make time for this show. In fact this week I brushed off a deadline job, just to watch it, causing me to stay up until 4 a.m. to finish the project on time.

Insane? Maybe a little.

Anyway, this week’s episode was about getting into a funk. The Glee Club was letting their main competition for regionals get into their head. They had to find their own ways to bring themselves out of that funk, which, in the end, was essentially beating down the opposing team in the same way they brought them down, by getting into their heads.

I have a point, I promise.

The injury monster has gotten into my head. And I’ve been trying hard to push him out because it put me in a weird funk.

As a result, I missed morning skate this morning.

But I’ve now come to the realization that it’s okay to be injured. It’s okay to take some time off to heal. Derby is a big part of my life right now and taking 3 days, 1 week, 5 weeks off isn’t going to change that. I shouldn’t feel guilty about taking that time off because playing injured isn’t going to help anybody on my team.

Today, I feel ridiculously rested and ready to get back on 8 wheels.

But you know what got me fired up most? This, which made me realize the injury funk wasn’t the only thing that had me hostage…

THIS IS ROLLER DERBY – trailer #1 from THIS IS ROLLER DERBY the movie on Vimeo.

(My apologies for it not embedding. Vimeo is giving me grief.)

And you know what line got me the most fired up? This line…

“It’s fun. You get to pretend you’re somebody else. You get to dress up. And you get to beat the shit out of your friends.”

You get to beat the shit out of your friends!

I’m not a violent gal. Girls on our team are snowboarders, former rugby players or have punched other people in faces out of anger. I’m not like that… I’m a lover, not a fighter 😉 BUT does that diminish my ability to play derby?

No way. Because this is how I’m looking at it now.

Derby is a job. It’s my job to hit girls. It’s my job to take hits. And all the other gals on my team, that’s their job too. I’m pretty sure something in my head was holding me back and I didn’t want to hurt my new friends. Fuck that shit. If I don’t do my job, I lose my job, or get benched, plain and simple.

Time to go 100% badass.

*******

This week we had some gals pull out of the team. They just couldn’t make the commitment for practice, mixed in with everything else in their lives. It really made me sad and also question my own dedication. But I’m in it now to skate for those gals too. Sapph Ic Slammer, Devil’s Viagara… I’ll miss you like crazy! Best of luck and see you on 8 wheels soon!!!!

And for your viewing pleasure… a little bit of Glee Marky Mark love…

Leave a Reply

