I guess you never stop learning

A couple things I’ve realized…

Cross cuts (moving quickly from the inside of the track to the outside)…
They have been my nemesis. But that morning I spent practicing at the skate park really paid off. I went from not being able to do them at all, to being able to cut the track pretty effectively. Apparently all my coaches from my junior years were right; practice makes perfect.

Don’t skimp on equipment…
While practicing cross cuts, I took a stupid fall, didn’t fall properly and effectively bruised my muscle below my right thumb on the palm of my hand. (My texting thumb nooooooooo!!!!) I need better wristguards to protect that area.

Jamming is wicked fun…
We did our first real scrimmage last night! Elbows were flying, I was out of bounds all over the place, but I scored 🙂 Can’t wait to try that on a real track.

Blocking is fun too…
The strategy of blocking the other jammer while making a hole for your girl to go through keeps you on your toes. This game is not just about hitting everything that moves, you have to be constantly thinking. The pivot position within the pack is pretty fun too!

It’s time for me to hit the books…
I can’t beleive it’s been two months since I started training. It’s gone by fast and when I look back at my first posts, I’m amazed how far I’ve come. I’m pretty confident I can pass my benchmarks; or come pretty damn close, anyway. But part of passing the benchmarks is a written rules test. Time to study!

P.S. Sliver is officially gone! My foot feels great! Thank Jebus!

Leave a Reply

