March 28 – first practice!

Boys and Girls Club – 2 hours

The floor felt slick after skating for so long outside, but after a couple slideouts we managed to ease our pushes and skated steady.

This practice was our media debut. Reporters from the BJ and Print programs at the college as well as the Lethbridge Herald were there to give us some very appreciated PR. I admit we looked pretty awesome in our homemade team shirts.

We warmed up around the gym floor which is in much need of replacement. Pieces of the wood flooring were coming up and we had to pylon off the areas where the floor was missing completely. But it’s the only indoor venue we’ve found so far that will let us skate and that we can afford.

Maude took us through some drills while Epic talked to the media. It was great to skate in a pack and have the camaraderie of the team.

Stuff we practiced

Crossovers – both directions

Leaning turns

Sticky skating (propelling without lifting skates from the floor)

Skating in a pack

Leaning into each other

Weaving in and out of skaters in a line

Booty blocks

Stopping
– t stop
– knee stop
– plow stop

Falls
– knee fall
– baseball slide fall
– superman slide fall
– then getting up within 3 seconds

Walking on our toes (running on your toe stops is how you get a fast start)

Tried a little bit of running crossovers, but with the floor so slick and the venue so small, I wasn’t quite comfortable with that. I’ll try that again outside where I have more room to lose control.

Looking at footage of myself skating I can see I’m skating really knock-kneed. It’s an old habit from my running days and partially due to the fact my legs are just built weird. My running coach tried hard to fix me in high school, but I was unmotivated and frankly didn’t care. I’d really like to break myself of that habit but if that’s the way my body is built then I may have to live with it. Des has been great in helping me open up my stance, but I think I’m falling into old habits as I gain speed.

Sad we won’t have another official practice till after Easter. Back to skating outside!

**edited to add… I got to check off some of the training benchmarks today. I know I’m not expert at some of them, but at least I know I can kinda do them.

Leave a Reply

